Show/Hide
Burn Ban in Effect for Precinct 4!!

Birth, Death and Marriage

Print

Birth Records

Certified Copy of Texas Abstract - $23.00.  Certified Copy of Johnson County Long Form - $23.00.  Abstract (Texas births only) may not be acceptable for Passports, Immigration or Indian Registry.  Offices are located at the Historic Courthouse at 2 N. Main St. Rm. 128 in downtown Cleburne (817-202-4000 x 1633) and the Burleson Sub Courthouse located at 247 Elk Dr. Room 103 in Burleson (817-202-4000 x 1726).

Office hours for Cleburne are 8:30-4:30 Monday-Friday.

Office hours for Vitals in Burleson are 8:30-12:30 and 1:30-4:30 Monday-Friday.

Mailing address is Johnson County Clerk-Vitals, PO Box 1986, Cleburne TX  76033. 

Customers who wish to obtain a Texas long-form birth certificate but were not born in Johnson County should contact the local registrar for their birth location or go to Texas.gov for purchase options via the state website at https://txapps.texas.gov/tolapp/ovra/index.htm

A birth record is closed to the general public and available to qualified applicants only, until the 75th anniversary of the date of birth as shown on the record filed with the local registrar.

Certified copies available to qualified applicants only.  Applicants must present valid government-issued photo ID. Properly qualified applicants include registrant or immediate family member by blood, marriage or adoption; guardian or legal representative; law enforcement or governmental agencies; persons who can demonstrate a direct and tangible interest in the record for statutory obligations; or persons protecting a personal legal property right and can present an original designation document or attested statement.  

No phone-in requests can be processed.  Mail-In Applications must also include the Notarized Proof of Identification & Affidavit (page 2 of Mail-In Application form), along with a legible copy of a valid government-issued photo ID or the application cannot be processed.  All requests must by received on State-approved application form which must include the following information. (See download under "Related Forms" below.) 

  • Full name as it appears on birth record
  • Date and county of birth
  • Parents' names, including mother's maiden name
  • Your relationship to person named on certificate
  • Your valid mailing address
  • Purpose of record
  • Signature and date under fraud warning statement
  • If requesting by mail, a legible copy of your valid government-issued photo ID (photo must be recognizable) must be included along with the original completed notarized Proof of Identification & Affidavit (page 2 of Mail-In Application).  Please include a daytime contact phone number.
  • If requesting in person, present your original valid government-issued photo ID
  • Cost per certificate is $23.00 cash or $24.15 by credit card (includes the 5% credit card processing fee)
  • Please do not send cash through the mail.  We accept business checks, money orders, or cashiers check - no personal checks

Texas Abstract birth certificates may not be acceptable for Passports, Court, Immigration, Indian Registry or Baptismal purposes - no refunds.

Notes:

  • All fees are due and payable at time of service.
  • Personal checks are not accepted.
  • Business checks are accepted with company information on check.
  • Credit cards are accepted with a small 5% fee.

Related Forms:


 

Death Records

Certified Copy of Death Certificate $21.00 for 1st copy + $4.00 for each additional copy purchased at the same time.  (Death must have occurred in Johnson County). The Vital Statistics Offices are located at the Historic Courthouse at 2 N. Main St. Rm 128 in downtown Cleburne (817-202-4000 x 1633) and at the Burleson Sub-Courthouse located at 247 Elk Dr. Room 103 in Burleson (817-202-4000 x 1726).  

 

Office hours for Cleburne are 8:30-4:30 Monday-Friday.

Office hours for Vitals in Burleson are 8:30-12:30 and 1:30-4:30 Monday-Friday.

Mailing address is Johnson County Clerk-Vitals, PO Box 1986, Cleburne TX  76033

A death record is closed to the general public until the 25th anniversary of the date of death as shown on the record filed with the local registrar.

Certified copies available to qualified applicants only.  Applicants must present a valid government-issued picture ID. Properly qualified applicants include registrant or immediate family member by blood, marriage or adoption; guardian or legal representative; law enforcement or governmental agencies; persons who can demonstrate a direct and tangible interest in the record for statutory obligations; or persons protecting a personal legal property right and can present an original designation document or attested statement.

No phone-in requests will be processed.  Mail-In Applications must also include the Notarized Proof of Identification & Affidavit (page 2 of Mail-In Application form), along with a legible copy of the applicant's valid government-issued photo ID or the application cannot be processed.  All requests must by received on State-approved application form which must include the following information. (See download link under "Related Forms" below.) 

  • Full name as it appears on death record
  • Date of death
  • Your relationship to person named on certificate
  • Your valid mailing address
  • Purpose of record
  • If requesting by mail, a legible copy of your valid government-issued photo ID (photo must be recognizable) along with the original completed Notarized Proof of Identification & Affidavit (page 2 of Mail-In Application form).  Please include a daytime contact phone number.
  • In person you will need to present your original valid government-issued photo ID
  • Cost for certificate is $21.00 for the first copy and $4 for each additional copy of the same record if purchased at the same time
  • Please do not send cash through the mail, we accept business checks, money orders, or cashiers check-no personal checks
  • Mail-in applications if paying by credit card, please provide daytime contact phone number.  A credit card processing fee of 5% will be added to the total.

 Notes:

  • All fees are due and payable at time of service.
  • Personal checks are not accepted.
  • Business checks are accepted with company information on check.
  • Credit cards are accepted with a small 5% fee.

Related Forms:


Burial-Transit Permit

If the urgent need for a Burial-Transit Permit arises which cannot wait until regular business hours, please contact us at one of the emergency numbers listed below.  Keep in mind that we cannot issue a permit until the Certificate of Death, completed in so far as possible, has been presented, the cause of death is natural and the permit is for the purpose of burial. We cannot issue a Burial-Transit Permit for the purpose of cremation outside normal business hours.

Please be sure to have the Certificate of Death with all of the information relating to the deceased, such as name, date of death, place of death, and funeral director's information complete and ready to present either by fax or in person.  If an incomplete certificate is used to request the permit, we may wish to confirm that the body is not longer needed by the certifier before issuing the permit in order to assure that a completed death certificate will be received.

Emergency Contact for Burial-Transit Permit outside normal business hours (817) 487-7935 or (254) 988-0753. Our area funeral homes will also have our emergency contact information.

Office hours are 8:00 AM to 4:30PM Mon-Fri. 

Johnson County Clerk-Vitals
2 N Main St Room 128
PO Box 1986
Cleburne TX  76033
817-202-4000 x 1633 phone
817-556-6326 fax


 

Marriage Records

  • Prices effective 1/1/14 - Marriage License $82.00, Informal License $47.00, Certified Copy $8.00 (Johnson County only).
  • Marriage License Applications are accepted at the County Clerk's Office at the Historic Courthouse at 2 N. Main St. Room 128 in Downtown Cleburne (817-202-4000 x 1633), or at the Burleson Sub-Courthouse at 247 Elk Drive Room 103 in Burleson (817-202-4000 x 1726).
  • 7/7/2015 - The application forms prescribed by the Texas Dept. of State Health Services have beep updated in our computer system by our software vendor.
  • Applicants should be at least 18 years of age, present a valid government-issued picture ID, and be able to provide their social security number.
  • Applicants 16-17 must have judicial approval or parental consent.  Under age 16 requires judicial approval.
  • Applicants must have been divorced more than 30 days or provide a court waiver unless divorced from each other.
  • Both applicants will appear in person, exceptions apply.  (Absent Applicant Information - see download under "Related Forms" below.)
  • Effective September 1, 2013, marriage by proxy will be available only to members of the US armed forces stationed in another country in support of combat or another military operation and unable to attend the ceremony.
  • 72-hour waiting period for ceremony exists after license is issued unless Applicant is active-duty military, Department of Defense employee or contractor, has a court waiver or has an approved premarital education course completion certificate.
  • License will expire if unused before the 90th day after the application has been issued.  If expired, a new application must be purchased before the ceremony. No refunds.
  • Standard fee is $82.00 cash/money order or $86.10 debit/credit card.  Informal License is $47.00 cash/money order or $49.35 debit/credit card.  No personal checks accepted.
  • "Twogether in Texas" graduates receive $60 discount on Marriage License.  Go to www.twogetherintexas.com for more information or download flyer under "Related Forms" below.
  • To download a copy of the premarital education handbook "When You Get Married" provided by the Office of Attorney General under the Texas Family Code Section 2.014, please click the download link under "Related Forms" below.
  • To download a copy of HIV/AIDS information fact sheet as prepared by the Texas Department of State Health Services, please click the download link under "Related Forms" below.

OBTAINING A COPY OF A MARRIAGE LICENSE

Licenses purchased in other counties are not available.  Please contact the county where the license was purchased.

If you are obtaining a copy, you will need to provide the following information:

  1. Full Name of Applicant One at time of marriage
  2. Full Name of Applicant Two at time of marriage
  3. The Year of the Marriage

Mail-in requests should be addressed to:

Johnson County Clerk-Vitals
PO Box 1986
Cleburne TX 76033

Please include your return address and cashier's check/money order for $8.  Please do not send cash in the mail.  No personal checks accepted.  If paying by credit card over the phone, please include a daytime phone number.

Office hours: 8:00 - 4:30 Monday - Friday 

HISTORIC COURTHOUSE
Johnson County Clerk
2 N. Main St. Rm 128 
PO Box 1986
Cleburne TX 76033
(817) 202-4000 x 1633

BURLESON SUB-COURTHOUSE
Johnson County Clerk
247 Elk Dr. Room 103
Burleson TX  76028
(817) 202-4000 x 1726

Notes:

  • All fees are due and payable at time of service.
  • Personal checks are not accepted.
  • Business checks are accepted with company information on check.
  • Credit cards are accepted with a small 5% fee.

Related Forms:


 

 

 

 

Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Flash Player QuickTime Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer